In a big face-off ahead of the first phase of West Bengal Assembly elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will hold simultaneous rallies in the state. While PM Modi will address a rally at Brigade Parade Ground in Kolkata, CM Mamata will lead a protest against fuel hike in Siliguri.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to hold his first rally in West Bengal after declaration of the poll schedule at the historic Brigade Parade Ground. PM Modi is scheduled to address the rally at 2 pm after landing at Kolkata at 1.20 pm. He will depart for Delhi at 6.15 pm.

As per a report, the Prime Minister’s rally is said to be a culmination of the “Parivartan Yatra” launched by the saffron party in the poll-bound Bengal in February this year.

Several top senior BJP leaders will be present at the rally along with PM Modi.

According to BJP sources, the rally might also throw up surprises as a few noted personalities, including Bollywood actor Mithun Chakraborty, might be present on the dais, as per the reports.

On Saturday, BJP national general secretary Arun Singh released a list of 57 candidates for the first two phases of the West Bengal Assembly elections.

Meanwhile, Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee will lead a ‘padyatra’ in Siliguri on Sunday to protest against the steep hike in fuel prices, including LPG cylinders.

As per a report, Banerjee told reporters that thousands of people, especially women, will assemble at Darjeeling More at 1 pm on Sunday to join the protest march.

“Many of those taking part in the rally will carry empty LPG cylinders to mark the protest,” as per sources.

State minister Chandrima Bhattacharya, who accompanied Banerjee to north Bengal, said the rally has been organised ahead of International Women’s Day, and scores of women would be joining the rally.

Among others, TMC MP Mimi Chakraborty will also take part in the rally, reported.

Banerjee declared the TMC candidate list on Friday. Banerjee, who heads Trinamool Congress, announced names of 291 candidates and left three seats for the ally Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) in Darjeeling.

Elections for the West Bengal assembly will be held in eight phases, beginning with polling for 30 seats on March 27.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.