Connect Gujarat

Five-day long Special Session of Parliament begins today

The bill seeks to reserve one third of all seats for women in Lok Sabha and State Legislative Assemblies

Five-day long Special Session of Parliament begins today

The five-day-long Special Parliament Session will begin today. The Parliamentary proceedings will begin as usual in the old Building today and from tomorrow it will shift to the new Parliament Building, which was inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 28th of May this year.

The five-day special session of Parliament will begin with a discussion on the Parliamentary Journey of 75 years, starting from the Samvidhan Sabha of its Achievements, Experiences, Memories, and Learnings. During the entire day, the discussions will take place in both the houses separately.

On Tuesday, there will be a photo session in the parliament building, including a function at the center hall on completing 75 years of independence.

After that, the session of both houses will be shifted to the new Parliament building, coinciding with the Ganesh Chaturthi.

From Wednesday the regular business will take place in the new parliament building.

There are a total of eight Bills that will be taken up in this special session of Parliament, including 4 bills, which have already been listed.

These four bills are the Appointment of the Chief Election Commissioner, and Other Election Commissioners to be taken up for consideration and passage.

The other listed business for Lok Sabha includes 'The Advocates (Amendment) Bill, 2023' and 'The Press and Registration of Periodicals Bill, 2023', which have already passed by Rajya Sabha. Besides, 'The Post Office Bill, 2023' has also been listed in the Lok Sabha business.

Ahead of the special session, the government held an all-party meeting of the floor leaders in New Delhi yesterday.

Defence Minister and the Deputy Leader of the House in Lok Sabha Rajnath Singh, Union Minister and leader of the House in Rajya Sabha, Piyush Goyal and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi represented the government in the meeting.

Several leaders of the Opposition parties including Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury from Congress, Farooq Abdullah of National Conference, TMC's Derek O'Brien, Aam Aadmi Party's Sanjay Singh, Ram Gopal Yadav of Samajwadi Party and RJD's Manoj Kumar Jha were also present in the meeting.

Addressing the media after the meeting, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi said, 51 leaders of 34 parties participated in the meeting.

He said the session will start in the existing parliament building today and it will be shifted to the new building tomorrow.

He said, the regular business in this special session will start on Wednesday. Mr Joshi added that during the meeting the government has sought the cooperation of parties to run the session smoothly.

During the meeting, several opposition parties made a strong pitch for the passage of the Women Reservation Bill during the session.

The bill seeks to reserve one third of all seats for women in Lok Sabha and State Legislative Assemblies.

In the meeting, the leaders also paid tributes to Security forces personnel, who laid their lives in Jammu and Kashmir during the recent encounter.

Earlier, Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar hoisted the National Flag at New Parliament Building.

The flag was hoisted at the top of Gaja Dwar of the building. Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla also graced the occasion, besides other dignitaries including Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Harivansh, the Parliamentary Affairs Minister, and Leaders of Political Parties in Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

Next Story