Connect Gujarat

Campaigning ends today for HP Assembly Polls

Notification for 2nd phase of Gujarat Assembly Elections to be issued today

Campaigning ends today for HP Assembly Polls

Himachal Pradesh, campaigning for assembly elections will end this evening. Star campaigners of political parties will be making last-ditch efforts to woo the voters.

While BJP is aiming to change the tradition of alternative governments in Himachal Pradesh, Congress is campaigning vigorously for change of power.

Sources reports, While addressing public meetings in Shimla, Kasumpti and Nabha, Senior BJP leader Anurag Singh Thakur, accused Congress of not implementing the central schemes in the state during congress tenure.

Keeping his point in front of the public, he said Congress has put obstacles many times to stop the development of Himachal.

On the other hand, Congress is going to hold "Vijay Ashirwad rallies" in all 68 assembly constituencies of the state simultaneously, today.

In this rally, the party's star campaigners will campaign in favor of their candidates through road shows and public meetings at many places.

The election campaign will stop at 5 pm today. Polling for all the 68 assembly seats in the state will be held on November 12 while counting of votes will take place on December 8.

In Gujarat, the notification for the second phase of assembly elections will be issued today. With this, the process of filing the nomination papers for the second phase will begin in the state. Candidates can file their nominations till the 17th of November.

The voting for 93 assembly constituencies of Central and North Gujarat will be held on 5th of December. In the first phase, a total of 12 nomination papers have been filed so far.

Meanwhile, political activities have picked up in the State with parties releasing lists of their candidates for the assembly polls.

Sources reports, Ruling BJP is likely to announce the first list of candidates for the assembly polls today.

Four senior BJP leaders of the state including former Chief Minister Vijay Rupani and deputy chief minister Nitin Patel announced that they will not contest the polls.

BJP Cental Election Committee held a meeting in New Delhi last evening to finalise the list of candidates for Gujarat Assembly elections.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel, Party National President J P Nadda among others were present at the meeting.

In Gujarat, the Assembly elections will be held in two phases.

The first phase of elections for 89 Assembly seats will be held on 1st of December, while the second phase in 93 seats will take place on 5th of December. Counting of votes will take place on 8th of December along with Himachal Pradesh.

Meanwhile, Opposition Congress received another jolt yesterday with sitting party MLA and senior leader Bhagawan Barad resigned from the party and joined BJP yesterday.

Congress MLA from Jhalod seat Bhavesh Katara also resigned from the party yesterday evening however he has not yet joined any political party.

On the other hand, Aam Aadmi party released the 13th list of 12 candidates yesterday. Bhartiya Tribal Party- BTP also released a second list of six candidates for the assembly polls yesterday.

Next Story
Share it