NDA nominee Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu (68) has been elected as India’s 15th Vice-president today. With today’s result, for the first time in history, BJP leaders would occupy top four constitutional posts of the country. All these posts would be rendered “Congress-mukt”. President Kovind, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan come from BJP.

Naidu received 516 votes out of 760 valid votes, while opposition candidate Gopal Krishna Gandhi got the support of 244 parliamentarians. The result even exceeded the BJP’s expectation as according to reports 19 opposition parties also voted in favour of Naidu.

Two time Vice-president Hamid Ansari’s term is ending on August 10 and Naidu will take oath the next day. By virtue of being vice president, Naidu also becomes ex-officio chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and various NDA leaders including Suresh Prabhu and other ministers from Modi brigade as well as BJP owned state’s chief ministers congratulated Naidu for becoming the vice-president.

Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani late evening tweeted “My wishes for successful and path breaking tenure”.

Surprisingly drastic increase of followers has been reported on social media platforms of Naidu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.