Vadodara Division Western Railway (VDWR) player BRIJESH NARIGARA became the reason to win men’s team championship final by demonstrating fabulous play in the doubles match. The final was against Central GST & Excise (CGST) played on 25th March 2018.

In the first match of the final Bhinnang Kothari (CGST) beat Ajoy Saha (VDWR) by 3-2. Bhinnang Kothari of CGST, a top spin and blocking player able to win the match due to his passion and accuracy for playing top spins and finishing shots. His opponent Ajoy Saha of railway basically a defensive player also played very well.

In the second match, Shubhadip Roy, a strongest player of railway, beat Rishi Sharma (CGST) in straight games 11-8, 11-8, 11-5. In the third match doubles, Shubhadip Roy & Brijesh Narigara (VDWR), a most senior player of the team beat Bhinnang Kothari & Rishi Sharma (CGST) 9-11, 12-10, 11-8, 11-8. It is to mention that before team championship final, Bhinnang Kothari & Rishi Sharma (CGST) beat Shubhadip Roy & Ajoy Saha (VDWR) in Men’s Doubles final, so at last moment Brijesh decided to pair with Shubhadip in team event and that trick worked.

In the fourth match, Shubhadip Roy (VDWR) beat Bhinnang Kothari (CGST) 9-11, 11-7, 11-8, 11-5 and VDWR won the final of men’s team championship title.

In women’s team section IOCL’s Women’s TT team claimed title in the Women’s Team Championship and maintained excellent play during the event. They won all their matches of league against tough opponents like MGVCL, IOCL won all matches.

First round of league group match was between IOCL & MGVCL where IOCL Women’s team was represented by G Brinda & Jyoti Pranami against the MGVCL women’s team represented by Pallavi Mahadik, Rita Gamit , K.M. Parmar and S.C. Barot.

In the first Match of best of five games G Brinda of IOCL won against Pallavi Mahadik of  MGVCL with score 11-2, 12-14, 5-11, 15-13, 10-12. The match was very exciting and competitive between both the players.

The IOCL women’s team stands first and MGVCL team stands second in the group and accordingly they stood first and second. Second match was won by MGVCL where Rita Gamit (MGVCL) beat Jyoti Pranami 11-8, 11-9, 11-7. Third match was doubles, IOCL get lead against MGVCL where G Brinda & Jyoti Pranami beat Pallavi Mahadik & Rita Gamit with score reading 12-10, 12-14, 11-6, 8-11, 11-4.

In singles Pallavi Mahadik (MGVCL) beat Jyoti Pranami (IOCL) 11-7, 11-7, 11-7 and set the score to 2 all. In the deciding fifth match again MGVCL player has given tough fight but G Brinda got the success and she beat Rita Gamit in set of five game 7-11, 8-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11- 8 after losing two games.

BSNL stood first in medal telly points with two Gold and two Bronze medals. Overall performance of all teams was very good and everybody enjoyed it. The Corporate event was organised first time in the city by Table Tennis Association of Baroda (TTAB) for two days on 24 th -25 th March 2018.

Dr. PRASHANT RAUT, General Manager, IT, IOCL and Vice President Officers Club IOCL was the Chief Guest during the prize distribution function. Guest of honours were Jayaben Thakkar, President-TTAB, Satyen Kulabkar, Syndicate Member of MSU, Dr. Harjit Kaur, Director (I/c) Phy. Edu. MSU, Jayesh Bhalawala, Senior Coach SAG, Kalpesh Thakkar Hon. Secretary-TTAB and Jityang Bhatt, Hon. Treasurer-TTAB.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.