Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday paid  tributes to Jayprakash Narayan and Nanaji Deshmukh on their respective birth anniversaries.

“I bow to Loknayak Jayprakash Narayan on his birth anniversary. His contribution towards preserving India’s democratic ideals is invaluable,” Modi said in a tweet.

Paying tributes to social activist Nanaji Deshmukh, Modi said “Nanaji Desmukh was a stalwart blessed with a penchant for selfless service to society. Tributes to him on his birth anniversary.”
Jayaprakash Narayan was born on October 11, 1902 in Saran, Bihar. In the 1970s, he led an opposition against then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. In 1999, he was awarded the Bharat Ratna and also the Magsaysay award for Public Service in 1965.

The Patna airport is also named after him.

Nanaji Deshmukh was born in Maharashtra’s Hingoli district on October 11, 1916. He was a leader of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh and also a member of the Rajya Sabha.

Deshmukh was awarded the Padma Vibhushan in 1999.