Bharatiya Janata Party President Amit Shah on Wednesday appointed Manoj Tiwari as the Delhi unit chief, an official statement said.

“Manoj Tiwari will replace Satish Upadhyay as BJP chief with immediate effect,” the statement said.

It also declared BJP MP Nityanand Rai as the Bihar unit chief.

Tiwari represents Northeast Delhi constituency while Rai represents Ujiarpur constituency of Bihar in the Lok Sabha.

Earlier the Bihar unit of the BJP was headed by Mangal Pandey.