India edged past China 5-4 via shootouts to win the womens Asia Cup hockey title here on Sunday.

India Nanjot Kaur hit a goal in the 25th minute, 1-0 ahead. She was growing closer to victory, but in the 47th minute of the fourth quarter, Tinatian Lue equalized in the match, turning the penalty corner into the goal.

After this the two teams failed to score and the match went to the penalty shootout where India won.

This was the Indian women’s second Asia Cup title. They had won their last continental title in 2004.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.