With the crossing the halfway mark in UP and leading in 308 seats of 403 member assembly, celebrations have begun and it seems the politically crucial state is all geared up for a saffron Holy this time.

The BJP  workers have begun celebrations in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s parliamentary constituency Varanasi and the state capital Lucknow.

Early trends again indicates that Uttar Pradesh has yet again voted for Prime Minister Modi.

The BJP swept the Uttar Pradesh state polls today – call it the ‘Modi wave’ or the ‘saffron wave’ . The result mirrors the 2014 Lok Sabha battle, which the BJP won by a majority. The party didn’t project a chief ministerial candidate, and most people today – after definitive leads came in – started talking about a ‘Modi win’ in UP rather than a ‘BJP win.’

PM Modi was right, it will be safffron Holi in Uttar Pradesh for the BJP. With his party securing a massive victory in the Assembly elections, the biggest state in the country will see a non-BSP, non-SP government after decades as there seems to be no stalling the Modi wave that saw the BJP winning over 70 seats in the 2014 General elections.

Stakes were high for the BJP in Uttar Pradesh as they desperately needed a win here after the debacle in Delhi and Bihar. And despite all odds, Amit Shah’s sharp strategy and Modi government’s pro-government policies seem to have overpowered Akhilesh’s development model and Mayawati’s caste politics.

Credit should be given to Amit Shah for BJP’s landslide win as he got all the calculations right. Before the polls there were reports of in-fight within the BJP over ticket distribution and the Jat votes shifting their loyalty from the party. The local cadres were reportedly unhappy with the top leadership as many sitting MLAs and local leaders were overlooked.

The most shocking decision remained giving of ticket to young Neelkanth Tiwari against seven-time sitting MLA Shyamdeo Rai Chaudhary in Varanasi South. It was expected that the local cadres may work against the party during polls. But for the voters, it was Modi whom they wanted to win. Who remains the party candidate, didn’t matter for them. The BJP was not just leading in Varanasi South but also on seven other constituencies under Varanasi region including Sevapuri, Pindara and Ajgara where the sitting MLAs were from SP, Congress and BSP respectively.